Text Only | Disarmament Diplomacy | Disarmament Documentation | ACRONYM Reports
back to the acronym home page
WMD Possessors
About Acronym


Indefinite Extension of the Non-Proliferation Treaty: Risks and Reckonings

ACRONYM Report No.7, September 1995

Appendix: Glossary of Acronyms

ABM Anti-Ballistic Missile Treaty
AOSIS Alliance of Small Island States
AWE Atomic Weapons Establishment (UK)
BWC Biological Weapons Convention
CD Conference on Disarmament
CTB(T) Comprehensive Test Ban (Treaty)
CWC Chemical Weapons Convention
DPRK Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea)
EU European Union
G21 Group of Non-Aligned States at the CD
HEU Highly Enriched Uranium
IAEA International Atomic Energy Agency
ICRC International Committee of the Red Cross
IMO International Maritime Organisation Against Proliferation
kt kiloton
MC.I Main Committee I (on Disarmament)
MC.II Main Committee II (on Safeguards)
MC.III Main Committee III (on Peaceful Uses)
NAM Non-Aligned Movement
NATO North Atlantic Treaty Organisation
NGO Non-Governmental Organisation
NPT Non-Proliferation Treaty
NPTREC Non-Proliferation Treaty Review and Extension Conference
NSA Negative Security Assurances
NWFZ Nuclear Weapon Free Zone
OAU Organisation of African Unity
OECD Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development
OPANAL Agency for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons in Latin America
OSCE Organisation of Security and Cooperation in Europe
PAROS Prevention of an Arms Race in Outer Space
PNE Peaceful Nuclear Explosion
PSA Positive Security Assurance
P-4 The P5 minus China
P-5 Permanent Five - the five nuclear-weapon states which are also the permanent members of the UN Security Council: US, Russia, UK, China and France
SAGTAC Standing Advisory Group on Technical Assistance and Cooperation
SPF South Pacific Forum
START Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty
TIA Transparency in Armaments
UK United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
UN United Nations
UNDC United Nations Disarmament Commission
UNSC United Nations Security Council
UNSSOD United Nations Special Session On Disarmament
US United States of America
USSR Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
WG Working Group

© 1995 The Acronym Institute.